HOW I WRITE

So I caught this post on C.S. Wilde’s blog and thought it was a pretty cool idea. So even though it is not Monday, I am posting this today.

 

1. What are you writing?

Centauri One (working title). I am planning to write around 150,000 words for this one. Science Fiction – Space Opera/Space Pirate.

2. How does your work differ from others of its genre?

I think it is in my voice, as any writer is honestly. Further than that I draw my inspiration from my formative years watching shows like Star Trek, Star Wars, Battlestar Galatica, Firefly, and Space: Above and Beyond.

3. Why do you write what you do?

I have a love of stories. I often feel an itch for a certain type of story, but cannot find it out there, so I write it instead.

4. How does your writing process work?

  • Start writing (no plot, no plan, just go!)
  • Mid completion, start plotting
  • Go back and revise the first half to match with my new plot (yes I know this is the hard way)
  • Finish
  • Revise
  • Finish
  • Revise
  • Send to Alpha readers (I want honest story critiques here, I’ll deal with editing later)
  • Revise
  • Send to BETA readers (give me that grammar hammer!)
  • Revise

5. Do you have any artistic pursuits besides writing?

I am a huge fan of wood-working, like C.S. I’ll post a pic below, ah there it is!

shoeshelf

yes, I made that. Burned the designs on it too.

 

6. What literary character is like you?

If I had to pick one that I really thought is like me, or that I am like? Perrin Aybara from Robert Jordan’s Wheel of Time series. Large and worried about hurting people, but a raging wolf on the inside just waiting to get out. Not to mention he was a blacksmith and really good at making things.

Who I wish I was like? Mat from the same Wheel of Time series, he was just so much more carefree.

 

Anywho, feel free to comment. Until next time.

 

Your friendly neighborhood author,

 

DJ Morand

One thought on “HOW I WRITE

Comments are closed.